Blog

Getting Personal // August 3, 2017

Brian Jacobs, Senior Superintendent

Brian Jacobs, Patriot Insurance, Yarmouth

Where did you grow up.
Yarmouth, Maine.

First job.
My first job was the summer of 8th grade cutting concrete for a family friend’s business. I continued working there throughout high school and college traveling around New England to all the paper mills from New York, Vermont, and Maine. The best project was the summer of my Junior year in college when my best friend and I core drilled a 4’ diameter hole through 16’ of concrete at the base of a dam behind a temporary coffer dam that was built 20’ down at the bottom of the lake in Millinocket for a new intake tube feeding the paper mill. This one hole took three weeks to core and remove…not bad for a couple of college kids!

The other interesting job I had was building 150 low-income houses on the side streets of “8 Mile” on the east side of Detroit in the underprivileged neighborhoods for two years. Needless to say, this was a great life experience as well as professional experience being a kid from Maine….what a wonderful State we live in!

Three things people may not know about you. 
I’m actually a pretty sensitive person outside of the work environment.
I’m an avid outdoorsman who loves to fly fish, hunt and camp.
I was a two sport NE 10 DIV II collegiate athlete. Held the NE 10 DIV II record for most tackles for a loss in one season playing football.

What would your closest friend say is your greatest attribute.
Loyalty and commitment to my friends and family.

Hobbies.
Playing men’s league hockey in Portland, fly fishing, bird hunting, spending time with my kids.

Family.
My wife Shelley and I have been married for 12 years. We met when we were kids and became friends, and kept in touch over the years. After college we started dating. I quit my job, sold my car, rented a U-HAUL truck and moved to Ann Arbor, Michigan for her graduate school for two years where we got engaged. We got married in 2005 and now have three children: Miah age 8, Reid age 5 and Brett age 3.

Favorite place to travel.
The tropics. I love off-the-beaten path vacations traveling to places that are challenging to get to. Costa Rica was my favorite as we literally Jeeped our way around the peninsula in the jungle forging rivers and streams in a 4-wheel drive vehicle to get to our destination.

Dream occupation.
Professional underwater diver or a pilot.

What do you want to do when you retire.
Travel and enjoy time with my wife.

What do you enjoy most about working at Landry/French.
I enjoy the people. We have a great group of talented people in pursuit of the common goal of being better builders and Maine’s preferred CM.